Sew ahead of schedule…

I had to use that title because I am pretty sure that it is an event that will never happen again.  When I am less than six months behind on any project, I consider that a success. Right now, I am up to Month (Week) 8 of the Sew,Mama,Sew! Modern Block of the Month from 2011-12 with Alyssa Haight Carlton.  Since this is only my actual week 3, I am- as noted- ahead of schedule!  And here are the pics on blocks 3-7:

Block 3:

And the finished Block 3: image (20)

Block 4:

This one was constructed kind of like a one-sided log cabin block- fairly simple!  The color on the white strip got kind of washed out.  It is a really pretty light pink toile on a white background.  The finished block:

image (23)

And block number 5:

Block 6 is the first one that had some real issues.  I refuse to do paper piecing, so instead of simply sewing to a template, I attempted to do this freehand and “wing” the angles as best I could.  Needless to say, my best is far from perfect, but the block sneaks by at what I consider to be “good enough”.  If at the end it sticks out like a sore thumb, I may have to remake it, following instructions this time.

image (25)

And last but not least, Block 7:

photo (71)

Block 8 is going to be a challenge again.  It requires partial seams, which again, I just won’t do, so let’s see what happens!

-Allison

Leave a comment