B-O-M!

My sewing has been characterized by a complete lack of discipline in every respect.  In an effort to improve, I have decided that I need a task master!  And so I am trying something new: Block of the Month.  Of course, there are pros and cons to this endeavor…

The Pros:

  1. A set timeline: though I’m going to speed it up and attempt to do it at a Block a Week!
  2. Someone else calling the shots
  3. Some of the blocks will force me out of my comfort zone (if I even have one)
  4. Planning is already done- none of my usual running out of fabric, too many or few blocks, layouts that won’t work, etc.
  5. Someone has already figured out the cutting measurements- one of my weakest points

The Cons: 

  1. I hate sampler quilts
  2. Some of the blocks are ugly
  3. Some of the blocks will force me out of my comfort zone (okay, so this one cuts both ways)
  4. No creativity (though I did get to pick out the fabrics- ALL from my stash)

photo-56

Since the pros seemed to outweigh the cons, the next step was to find the right Block of the Month quilt.  After looking at several, I settled on Sew,Mama,Sew! Modern Block of the Month from 2011-12 with Alyssa Haight Carlton.  I liked the simplicity of many of the blocks, which would really allow force me to focus on technique, since mistakes are hard to hide in a simple block.

Half-way through the first block, I’m really enjoying her crystal clear instructions, digital pictures and actual pictures.  Each block is also made in a second colorway, and digital pictures are given of an entire quilt of that block in all different layouts.  Can’t wait to see how this turns out!

Here’s a pic of block #1, ready to be assembled:photo-55

-Allison

 

Leave a Reply

