Still in the Shadows

I find myself still totally unsure about this Golden Shadows quilt (that really doesn’t have shadows anymore, if it ever even did).  I find it uninspiring and yet the actual construction is coming out quite well.  I had framed all the blocks in gold; 3 were narrow frames, 6 were wider.  I then framed the frames with a speckled beige and evened them all out at 12 inches square.   These are the three narrow ones:

photo-52

 

 

And these are the six wider ones: photo-49

And then I got bored and started to sew the blocks into big blocks.  And then I wanted the quilt (now apparently it’s to be a quilt, not a large pillow) to be bigger.  I added four solid blocks of the gold.  Now I have three sets of four blocks and no idea what to do with them.  Obviously, at a little short of 6 ft by 2 ft, it needs to be widened.  I’m out of gold fabric, out of charm squares and out of ideas!photo-53
photo-48So instead of something beautiful to share today, I’m sharing my frustration.  But, on the bright side, I have found a recipient for this quilt if and when I ever finish it.

 

Meet our new foster dog, Diego: He’s a Chiweenie!  Sweet, good with the kids, well-mannered and best of all, he’s totally housebroken.  So if you know anyone looking to adopt in South Florida, Diego is looking for his forever home.

 

photo-51

-Allison

Leave a Reply

