Look Ma: No Hands!

Machine Binding a Quilt

Because I have such a fondness for quilting shortcuts, I just learned to machine bind a quilt!  I used this great tutorial from Cluck, Cluck, Sew, and for my first time, it came out pretty well!  It was definitely quick and easy, and definitely came out as nice, if not better, than my hand-sewn versions.

photo-33

Here is what I learned to pay attention to for next time:

  • Use a larger binding.  She recommends 2.5 inches (before you fold it in half).  I had already cut my binding at 2 inches, and I could have used that extra 1/2 inch (ophoto-34r more) to work with!
  • Use a binding that is a different color than either the front or back fabrics you are sewing it to.  My binding is orange and white which was easy to pick out on the front green and gold fabric.  The backing fabric though is red and white, and whenever the whites were on top of each other, I couldn’t really be sure what was directly under the machine.
  • Finphoto-32ally, until I get better at this, I should consider doing it backwards: sewing on to the back first and then the front.   I have trouble keeping the second set of stitches out of the binding that has already been sewn on one side, so it would probably look better having that side on the back.  photo-35

Either way, the M&Ms Christmas quilt is now finished!  Can’t say I love it (or even really like it) but it was so great to have a “practice quilt” to try out some new things.    After finishing some of the other projects that I’m in the middle of, I think I’m going to do another practice quilt!

In the meantime, I’m looking for someplace to donate this one and/or an ugly Christmas quilt contest to enter it into (they have those, right?).

Allison

 

 

Leave a Reply

