Oompa-Loompas!

My own sewing plans got a little derailed this week, as I had promised to help with costumes for the Middle School play, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  The first call came in from my good friend, Monica, asking me to sew buttons on something.  I had to laugh and confess that I bring all my buttons to the dry cleaners!  She was stuck doing that one herself.  Instead, she asked me to sew the straps for the Oompa-Loompa costumes.

Measure, mark, fold, press, sew line.  Sew another line. (so each is double stitched).  Repeat.  I did two straps, then called to ask how precise this needed to be.  Luckily, the answer was “done”, meaning I could skip the measure and mark!  88 lines later, I’m finished, and actually out of white thread (these were very long straps!)  And in case you didn’t already know, sewing straight white lines on (almost) straight white fabric is BORING!

photo-29

Even though I have real things to do, I’m going to go play with my fabric stash, because I need some color and patterns!

image

Allison

Leave a Reply

