Valentine’s Day- Almost Antique Heart

Just in time for Valentine’s Day- a Friday finish!  The Almost Antique Heart Quilt!

quiltheart7

Love this one!  I was originally going for antique style romantic fabrics patchworked into a heart.  But when trying to match up some colors, my fabrics started to get a little more modern. So, it’s an Almost Antique Heart.

quiltheart1quiltheart2

I love the colors that found their way into this one.  I started out with shades of beige and brown, a coral, a seafoam green and some pinks.  A little gold got added, and then some greys, and then varying shades of everything that was there already.  Not colors I would have thought to put together, but when I picked out the antique romantic fabrics, those were the colors that presented themselves!  A few other colors got thrown into the mix when searching the scrap bins for some more coordinates.  It all turned out very feminine and girly- not my typical style, but I love it!

quiltheart5

For the back, I wanted to stick with the patchwork theme, but cut my squares to 12 1/2 inches (unfinished) so that the piecing would be quick and easy.  I didn’t have any large scale prints in my stash, so I picked up these adorable birdies and butterflies at Joann’s, along with the coral plaid/check/argyle, which is very peppy but still rather old looking.

  quiltheart11  quiltheart10

 

I threw in some smaller patchwork to make use of the scraps left over from the front.

quiltheart13

The binding, I think, will be more of that coral check, since I can’t imagine ever needing that print again, so I might as well use it up!  As for the quilting… I have no idea.  I’m open to any suggestions that require only straight lines!

I’ll post some more photos when it’s truly done and ready to be mailed off to my cousin in frozen upstate New York!

Allison

One thought on “Valentine’s Day- Almost Antique Heart

Leave a Reply

