Heart Quilt

With Valentine’s Day quickly approaching, I thought it was time to start on my heart quilt.  I’d been collecting some romantic looking fabrics and decided to piece them into a patchwork heart.

quiltheart1

I cut a whole bunch of 4 inch squares and then got to work on the 12 HSTs I needed.  This time, I oversized them by a full inch, and boy did it make a difference!  For the first time ever, they seem to be cut quite accurately.  Guess I really need that much wiggle room.

quiltheart3 quiltheart4

And, silly me, I used a directional print for the “background” fabric, which meant I had to be extra careful to get all the HSTs going in the right direction.  One mistake- can you spot it?- that I caught before I started sewing my blocks together, so I was able to make a replacement.

quiltheart2

 

After the heart is finished (I’m about half way through sewing the squares into rows), I will put on the border of that coral directional print, and then put this one away for a few days to start on a special project for a friend…

Allison

linked up with Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday!

 

Leave a Reply

