New Year, New Quilt

This will be the first quilt for this year, hopefully finished in time for my stepmother’s birthday in February.  My dad’s living room is very modern- blacks and greys with pops of bright colors, so I designed a quilt to go with it.

quiltdad1

I started with a (half) jelly roll of colored, mottled strips, and took out a grey with irregular white spots in lines that I had been hoarding from Joann’s.  I was very careful to cut my grey into strips going WITH the lines so I wouldn’t have a random polka dot pattern.  After I took out the brown, I was left with 18 strips- two each of orange, red, pink, purple, blue, navy and three shades of green.  I sewed a two inch golden yellow square onto the end of each strip of color and then didn’t know what I wanted to do next.

So, for the first time ever, I got out some graph paper and my daughter’s colored pencils and started to draw.  So much fun!  This is what I came up with:

quiltdad5  Amazing to plan a quilt out beforehand- I’ve actually never done that before, but rather have always just let it take shape as I went.  For this one, I couldn’t decide what to do with the part that I had left white.  I went to the fabric store to see what my options were.  I didn’t find anything that wowed me.  I was maybe hoping for a great tone on tone white or a very light grey on white.  But, not finding anything perfect, I decided to just get some Kona White. And now I don’t think I will ever skimp on my solids again.  That Kona just feels magnificent!

So, time to start cutting, sewing and pressing:

quiltdad3quiltdad4quiltdad2

 

Allison

 

Linking up with Freshly Pieced WIP Wednesday

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Quilt

Leave a Reply

