An Asterisk Pillow

quiltasteriskpillow3I hate sampler quilts.  Well, that’s not entirely fair.  I love the concept of them and I love learning new tricks to make new blocks, but I hate how they look all put together.  The total lack of symmetry bothers me and my obsessive compulsive disorder.   So after I signed up for one of the free craftsy mini-classes that features a block (or two) a month, I didn’t know what to do with the block I made.  Actually, there were two blocks.  When I first tried the asterisk pattern, I got so excited with how much fun it was that I simply forgot to measure the second strip which was “close” to the right size.  When it came time to put in the third strip, I discovered two things-

1. it is really important to follow the directions in order, because the diagonals really do need to come before the horizontal and vertical lines

2. if you forgot to measure, and use something close, that is about half an inch too wide, you can’t really find the center point for strips going diagonally

quiltasteriskpillow2

So, I had to start over.  My second try came out great!  So what to do with the blocks?  I squared them up and made a throw pillow.  And the best part- all my mistakes were on one side, which is now officially the bottom of the pillow.  What mistakes you ask?  Seams where the binding was joined that wound up upside-down (or inside-out)- how did I miss that?  Seams where the fabric and binding didn’t quite meet (thank you fabric glue).  And the spot where the binding got sewn too far down and didn’t really stretch over to meet the other side.

quiltasteriskpillow

And because I am just that lazy, I sewed the pillow form straight into the cover.  No zippers, buttons or envelope closures for me!  My daughter has now requested one in colors to match her room.

I think this one went a step beyond I love it because you made it!  Think there might be some more pillows in the near future…

Allison

 

 

Leave a Reply

